My Valentine’s Day Booklist

Help the children in your life understand more about what love truly is AND the source of that love—our God who IS love. Add a book to the candy this Valentine’s Day!

Board Books

Night, Night, Valentine, by Amy Parker. Fans of Amy Parker’s Night, Night series will welcome this addition that shows little ones how sweet family time can be. (Tommy Nelson, 2020).

That’s What Love Is, by Hannah C. Hall. In this new board book, animals model the 1 Corinthians 13 virtues that tell us how love behaves: with patience, kindness, and so much more. The art’s enchanting and the rhyming text works. (WorthyKids, December 2020)

Jesus Loves the Little Children: A Sing-Along Book. (Zonderkidz, 2019). There’s no button to push to play the song, but you already know the tune, right? The classic children’s song gets some updated lyrics and a mix of modern and biblical illustrations in this board book for little ones.

Picture Books

God Gave Us Love, by Lisa T. Bergren. Love comes from God, and it’s important that we love everyone, even others who are difficult, with the love God shows to us. (Waterbrook, 2009).

Love Is Kind, by Laura Sassi. Little Owl discovers that choosing to love is the very best gift. Verses from 1 Corinthians 13 woven into the illustrations help children make the same discovery. (Zonderkidz, 2018).

Words to Love By, by Rick Warren. This cheery, colorful exploration of how we can use words to love others delivers well at Valentine’s or anytime. (Zonderkidz, 2018).

The Invisible String, by Patrice Karst. A simple story about the “invisible strings” that connect us to those we love, this little book has helped thousands of children cope with separation anxiety and loss. (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2018).

Saint Valentine, by Robert Sabuda. This classic picture book biography for young readers includes intriguing mosaic-style illustrations. (Aladdin, 1999).

Devotionals

Whatever Is Lovely: A 90-day devotional guide, by Allia Zobel Nolan. A 90-day devotional for middle-grade girls based on Philippians 4:8. (Zonderkidz, 2016).

Making God’s wonders known to the next generation,

– Diane

Leave a Comment